6 Books Every Fashion Bloggers Should Own.

There is just something so magical about fashion books…they not only serve as a source of inspiration, they also make quite the elegant display on your coffee table or the perfect accessory to your latest Instagram flat-lay. All jokes aside, here are the 6 books I own that brings lots of joys and inventive stimulation when I go through a creativity dry-spell.

  1. It – Alexa Chung

4153y-uyc2l-_sx324_bo1204203200_

This is an oldie but goodie. Lots of random thoughts, doodles, and realizations from the “It” girl who’s till this day still taking a permanent “gap life”. She lives the life many girls (including me) desires. This is definitely my go to book when I have brain farts and needed something to get my creativity flow going. How I do it? Flip to a random page and study it like nobody’s business.

You can get this book Here and Here.

 

2. #Girl Boss –  Sophia Amoruso

515mdsaap3l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Founder of Nasty Gal, and a TV series inspired by her after. I think this is a must read for every girl who wishes to make fashion a career. This book helps me get motivated during the rougher times of my life. My favorite quote from Sophia “Good things come to those who hustle.” Indeed.

You can get this book Here and Here.

 

3. Love x Style x Life – Garance Doré

51vel-v-c4l-_sx374_bo1204203200_

This book is like you made a très chic French girl friend whom you can invite to any occasion in life and it would be a great time. From styling advice, to hilarious observation about Americans vs French, this book give just the right dosage of entertainment and fashion. Sometimes I would just read this book and convinced myself that me and Garance Doré are the bestest friends.

You can find this book Here and Here.

 

4.  How to be Parisian – Anne Berest, Audrey Diwan, Caroline De Maigret, Sophie Mas

412spyrebwl-_sx367_bo1204203200_

Not that we are not happy with our own nationalities (whoever you are/where you are from), but come on, let’s face it – there has to be a reason why being a French women in this world is particularly hyped up and fantasized upon. This book gives you insights into of how French women operates from their day to day life. Whether it’s food, language, vacation, to how to wittily deal with men, every page is so lovable and genuinely hilarious. I think the French spirit is still very much apparent in the fashion industry and no one is complaining to be honest.

Find the book HERE.

 

5. The Coveteur – Stephanie Mark

41u1v-mrw0l

I’ve been a loyal reader/subscriber to The Coveteur website for years now, and there is just something so glamorous and fun about the photography. I particularly enjoyed the detailed accounts to their interviews with famous celebrities/fashion people…almost too relatable as if the readers were there to experience it as well. That’s why when I found out they were releasing a book, I knew I had to get my hands on a copy. It’s the perfect coffee table book that will serve as closet inspirations for life.

Find the book HERE.

 

6. Capture Your Style – Aimee Song

41zkopkkzhl

 

If I were to name a few Asian faces that have prominent status in the fashion industry, she definitely will be the first ones to pop in my head. Aimee of Song of Style has inspired so many people with her killer #ootd and impeccable Instagram feed.  Most importantly, she has inspired so many young Asian Americans like me to pursue fashion and chasing the dream that seems impossible. In this book you will learn all the tricks to an ootd (outfit of the day) and all that Amiee’s got up her sleeves (literally). The beautiful destination and fashion shows/travels she has done over the years really serves as an motivation for me.

Get the book HERE and HERE.

 

Hope these books inspired you all the fashion lovers out there!

 

XO, J

 

Leave a Reply

